Things I Love Thursday ~ My Fitness Pal Review

When I decided to quit Weight Watchers, I knew that I didn’t want to quit tracking what I ate.  Writing down everything each day had been essential to achieving my weight-loss goals.  I specifically wanted something that would allow me to track calories, certain nutrients, weekly weigh-ins, and exercise.  It  needed to be free and available as an app for my iPhone, but it would be nice if it had a web version, too.  I also wanted something that I could use to calculate calories for my own recipes (as in, put in my ingredients and end up with the nutrition information for each serving).

I read lots of reviews and decided to go with My Fitness Pal.  It asked for basic information like my gender, height, current weight, level of activity and weight loss goals, and then calculated a daily calorie limit for me.  It not only asked the amount I wanted to lose but also how quickly I wanted to lose it, with the maximum rate being a healthy and sustainable two pounds per week.

For the food tracking, it saves entries I’ve made, allowing me to add them to my food diary quickly at a later time.  This is really handy for me since I don’t mind eating the same things on about a two- or three-week rotation.  There is a huge database of food available, and it shows how many times an item has been verified by users.  I can also add “personal foods” – things that aren’t available in the database.  It provides an option to create a meal (for example, a grilled chicken salad that I eat regularly), so that I don’t have to add the individual items each time I eat it.

One of the most useful features for me is the ability to customize my day by breaking it down into six separate eating times.  I have mine separated into Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, with a snack in between each meal.

I am able to input recipes and break them down by servings to obtain calorie counts.  They are building a database of recipes that will be shared across the site, but it’s not available yet.  The one thing that I would like to see done differently with this part is to allow a way to also put in the cooking directions without having to share the recipe.

I also noticed that, after I’d lost the first ten pounds using the program, it automatically recalculated my daily calorie limit.  I liked that I didn’t have to remember to do that.  I’m assuming that it will continue to do that for each ten-pound weight loss.

It allows me to set excercise goals for each week.  Like the food tracker, it automatically saves the ones I do regularly so that I don’t have to add them each time.  The database of exercises contains pretty much everything I think I’d ever do!

I’ve been using My Fitness Pal for almost three months, and I really have no major complaints.  If you’ve been looking for something similar, I highly recommend it.  It’s definitely a Thing I Love!

Note: I was not paid by My Fitness Pal to write this review, but I’d take some money if they wanted to throw it at me now.

4 Comments

Filed under Be healthy., Things I Love Thursday

4 responses to “Things I Love Thursday ~ My Fitness Pal Review

  1. I use this too. Well, I did when I was tracking. I liked it a lot.

  2. Thank you for telling us about My Fitness Pal. I am going to go check that out today. Take care!
    Janiece

  3. Wow, you’ve lost 10 pounds in the last 3 months? Well, if I had to write down everything I ate, I’d probably start losing weight too.

    I hope My Fitness Pal throws some money your way soon so you can buy that Le Creuset. They should! This is a very useful (and positive) review!

  4. I’m always impressed with people that track what they eat. I tried to do it at the beginning of my pregnancy and am just not good at remembering to do it! lol This sounds cool though. I may keep it in mind for when I am trying to lose the baby weight! 🙂

Leave a Reply

