Things I Love Thursday – Quiet Me Time, in Broad Daylight

I’m trying a new Thursday thing, to go along with The Diaper Diaries’ Things I Love Thursday.

One of my most satisfying things is knowing that I’m taking care of my family, whether it’s helping Jet with his homework or playing patty-cake with Songbird or spending time matching coupons to sales at the commissary to stretch the dollars that Knight works so hard to bring home.  I know that I have room for improvement, but I like to think that my family receives the things I do as efforts to show my love to them.

Dr. Phil often says a phrase that really resonates with me:  “You can’t give away what you don’t have.”  Since becoming a stay-at-home mom a little less than a year ago, I’ve learned that I absolutely HAVE to make some time for myself.  When I don’t, I become cranky, irritable and just plain not fun to be around.  THAT definitely doesn’t show love to my family.

So, when Songbird goes down for her afternoon nap, I take 20 minutes or so to pick up her toys, load a few dishes in the dishwasher, start some laundry, or whatever.  And then?  Oh, then… the very BEST.  I SIT.  In the living room, in broad daylight, in a somewhat-clean, and very, very quiet house. I READ whatever book I’ve brought home from the library, generally something light-hearted and fun.

I usually have somewhere between 30 and 45 minutes before Jet comes home from school.  I take a few minutes to think of all the other things that I should be doing.  Then put them in my mental “I’ll do it later” file and sweep any residual guilt under the rug.  Because what I really should be doing is exactly what I am doing – recharging my batteries in preparation for the evening onslaught, so that I can be refreshed to greet my son and hubby when they get home.  I can prepare dinner and juggle the baby.  I can field the myriad of questions from Jet.  And, quite possibly, still have energy after the kids go to bed for some adult conversation with Knight.

Possibly the very best part is that, because I do this in the middle of the day instead of after everyone else goes to bed, I’m not too tired to really enjoy it!

Quiet Me Time, in Broad Daylight (*gasp*!) is definitely a Thing I Love!

5 Comments

Filed under Everyday Bliss

5 responses to “Things I Love Thursday – Quiet Me Time, in Broad Daylight

  1. Kathy

    Good for You! That’s the hardest thing for us mommies. To let ourselves recharge!

  2. What a great post! I totally agree! I find myself being way too busy during naptime and love those days when I make myself just sit and read or watch TV.

  3. I have found the same thing–when I “power through” naptime getting things done and then someone wakes up before I’ve had time to relax–watch out, mommy is not a happy camper! So I have to take that time to relax up front, to recharge before the onslaught, as you say. So true!

  4. I couldn’t agree more! And almost everyday I do the same thing! Most days I’m blogging during that time, but the really special days are the ones I indulge in a book–and I love the fun and lighthearted reading the best!

  5. I agree too! I think we NEED that as moms. I feel much more human if I get a little time to do something I like, or even just relax in silence. Great post!

Leave a Reply

