We’re here!

I don’t really know what I expected “settling in” to be like, once we arrived in New Jersey.  I think I was worried about homesickness, missing my parents and friends, learning my way around a new town…  and while all of those are valid concerns, life has been good in the (nearly) two months since we’ve moved.   Those concerns were alleviated in large part due to my mom being here for two weeks, the joy of Skype, and the nice lady that lives in my Magellan.  (I know she’s nice because she doesn’t get her panties in a twist about “recalculating” like the lady that lives in Knight’s Garmin.)

We have been blessed by instant friends, too.  We live on post, in a very nice duplex that is considerably larger than the house we left — 500 square feet larger, plus a basement, to be exact.  (Which is a LOT of house to keep up with, I’m finding, especially when laundry facilities are two floors below where laundry is generated.  I consider it an opportunity to tone and firm my… uh… areas that need toning and firming. *ahem*)  The family that lives on the other side of our duplex has two small children, including a four-year-old son I’ll call Superhero.  Superhero and Jet met on the day the movers came, and an instant bond was formed, further forged by the movers quickly unloading Jet’s Big Wheel.  Superhero also has a Big Wheel, and, really, what more do two young boys need to cement a forever friendship?  They have played together very nearly everyday since.

It helps that Superhero’s mom and I clicked.  She’s a very laid-back, go-with-the-flow-until-someone-gets-disrespectful-or-might-get-hurt kind of mom, which is precisely how I described myself in my mommy-to-be interview.  (You know, the same one where they handed out the Parenting Manual.)

Speaking of parenting, I finally came up with a bloggity name for our sweet baby girl.  I have a difficult time with these things… partly because I’m amazingly unoriginal and uncreative in these arenas, but also because I don’t have nicknames for our kids.  I call them by their names because that’s the purpose of said names, right?  (Yes, go ahead and roll your eyes about how anal-retentive I am about this.  I don’t care.  Much.)   Additionally, she’s only six months old, and her personality has yet to show itself in grand and glorious ways.  With Jet, it was easy – he was two when I started this blogging adventure, and the boy still loves to run around the house pretending to be an airplane, or ride in the car pretending to fly it like a plane, or have his food on his fork and turn it into an airplane…    At any rate, *insert grand thoroughfare and drum roll here* she shall be called Songbird, due to her penchant for “singing”.  She has discovered her voice over the last several weeks, and uses it beautifully… and forcefully, when necessary.  If she’s anything like her mama, that’s not going to change anytime soon.  So, I think the name will fit her for the long haul.

Songbird spends a lot of time on the floor these days, learning how to crawl and sit up between bouts of drooling and chewing on stuff.  She’s really a fairly calm baby, much like Jet was.  In fact, I think her very favorite person is Jet; she loves just being in the same room with him.  She’ll sit in her bouncy chair and watch him play in his playroom for an hour or more at a time, singing and “talking” to him.  I’m pretty sure that she saves her biggest smiles for him, probably because he never puts her in her bed to let her go to sleep on her own.  It’s so much fun to watch their relationship develop and to see his tender heart toward her.

Here’s where I feel like I need to wrap up this post, and cleverly tie this part and the middle part back to the beginning (a la High School English Paper Writing 101).  Really, though, I just want to say that God is good, all the time.  I’ve told several people that things have worked out so well for us here that it’s just like Somebody planned it for us… which, of course, I believe He did.

3 Comments

Filed under Army Life, Family, Jet, New Baby

3 responses to “We’re here!

  1. Glad that you’ve settled in so nicely!

  2. sounds like some great things are happening! 🙂

  3. Good luck continuing to settle into your new environs and new life. It’s always an adventure.

Leave a Reply

