*swoon*

First, a little background:

Knight sort of lost his job early last spring when the company he was working for sort of began something of a slow death.  He has career plans in the form of joining the Army (hopefully by the end of this month, which I am very excited about, but that’s not the point of this post), but has had odd jobs in the meantime.  Since April-ish, he’s been working at a local bowling center, either tending bar, working the front counter, or doing various IT-y things for them.  It doesn’t pay nearly what he’s worth, but I admire him for putting in long hours to make ends meet.

One of the things I hate about the situation is that his schedule is wildly unpredictable from week to week.  It’s almost impossible to make plans, or even to know how many evenings he’ll be home with the family.  He works a lot of evening/night shifts, and, as a result, we mostly see each other through our eyelids.  This, of course, is a difficult thing in and of itself, but it makes it even harder on a calendar-dependent freak like me since we have a hard time communicating on a regular basis about what his schedule will be.  He doesn’t understand, though he has done a fantastic job of at least tolerating, my obsessive compulsive disorder about getting everything written in my day planner.  It’s an understatement to say that he’s spontaneous.

Today, though, I received an email from him that made my heart skip a beat or three.  You know that funny feeling you get when your heart does a few somersaults and then splashes down into your stomach?  When you just want to hold onto a moment forever?  Yeah, it was one of those moments.  Here’s what the email said:  “I’ve been using Google Calendar to organize my calendar, find interesting events, and share my schedule with friends and family members. I thought you might like to use Google Calendar, too.”

He’d imported his work schedule and everything.

I love it when he speaks my language.   *swoon*

4 Comments

Filed under Marital bliss

4 responses to “*swoon*

  1. MMM

    Oh yeah! I know the feeling! I am most certainly a calendar girl!

  2. deanna

    I read that bracing myself for something that might gross me out, seeing how Knight is my brother and all. Imagine my relief at learning the source of the “swoon”. It was very sweet though, I think I would be equally “swoonified” had my hubbie done something as considerate. I may have raised that boy right afterall!

  3. Calendars are my thing too. We joke that on the space-time continuum, my husband is responsible for spatial and I’m responsible for temporal.

  4. ann

    praying for you!

Leave a Reply

