Look! Quick! Over here! A POST!

A great big “Hi There!” to all my friends who live in the computer… and to all of them who don’t but read here anyway for some reason!

I can explain the hiatus from posting, sort of, but that might just bore you to tears, so why don’t we just move on to the good stuff?

The pregnancy is progressing well – I’m 20.5 weeks along (halfway!  woot!).  We don’t yet know if we’ll be buying pink or blue, but we go in on Monday next week for a sonogram.  We do want to find out, so I’m hoping that the baby cooperates.  Jet sure didn’t.  Knight and I were living in Dallas during our pregnancy with him, but would visit my parents often.  We had our first sonogram for Jet, and he wouldn’t show.  Maybe he thought he was being polite.  For the next two weekends in a row, we visited my parents for one thing or another.  My dad is an anesthesiologist, and took us up to the hospital to get someone to try to find out on BOTH of those weekends.  Jet didn’t show for either one of those!  Finally, on our next regularly scheduled doctor appointment, we wheedled our doctor into trying again.  I guess Jet got tired of hiding, because we sure got an eyeful on that appointment!  I know I said early on that I thought this baby was another boy, but I’ve decided that it’s a girl.  This pregnancy has been so different from my first one!

I’m feeling really good these days – they say the second trimester is the “best” one, and I’m thinking I agree.  I’m past the exhaustion and nausea of the first trimester, but not yet the size of a HOUSE.

The other thing that’s really fun is sharing the pregnancy with my high school students.  I’ve had most of them for three years in a row, which is one of the reasons I love my school.  I get to develop close relationships with them, and see them grow and learn over a longer period of time…  Anyway, they are all really excited about the baby, and are taking good care of me.  I rarely have to bend over to pick something up from the floor, and I never have to carry anything.  🙂  They’re all very sweet and helpful.

We finally told Jet about the new baby in Mommy’s tummy.  He was instantly excited.  The playschool that he attends has infants, so he’s somewhat familiar with what a baby is like.  He LOVES babies!  It’s been about a month or so since we’ve told him, and he talks to the new baby everyday.  He always says, “Hi Baby!  This is your big brother Jet! I love you!”, and proceeds to tell the baby all sorts of things.  When I ask him what he’s going to do with the new baby, he always tells me that he’ll hold him and change the diaper!  I think if he was just a bit older, I’d be seriously encouraging this train of thought…  Everyday, he tells the baby good morning, and includes the new baby in his prayers each evening.  I knew that one of my favorite things about a second pregnancy would be talking to Jet about the new baby, but it’s even more fun than I thought it would be!

That’s it for now… I’ll try to post more blah blah blah….  🙂

5 Comments

Filed under New Baby

5 responses to “Look! Quick! Over here! A POST!

  1. MMM

    Thank heavens! 😉

  2. good to hear from you! was wondering how you were!

  3. I am so glad things are going so well!

  4. deanna

    hug my little guy for me, we miss you tons but you sound like you’re doing well, and that makes me happy. talk to you soon, D

  5. Pingback: Ready. « Damsel and Family

Leave a Reply

