It’s a miracle

The house is clean!  Well, most of it, anyway.  The parts that people see.  (And we ALL know that those are the only parts that really count, don’t we?)  Considering that I’ve been actively sitting on my duff all week, this is a bit of a major accomplishment.  Sometimes I just need a motivating factor, and having the house clean doesn’t always cut it, in and of itself.  Which is why I’d like to say a big THANK YOU to my sister-in-law for coming over later today!

Also, I’d like to give voice to something that’s been plaguing me that I’ve refused to admit:  nausea.  It’s really pretty mild, but, considering that I had NONE when I was pregnant with Jet, I’m more irritated than anything else.  The weird thing is that it doesn’t seem to matter what or when I eat, or when or with what I take my honkin’ huge prenatal vitamin.  It’s always preceded by this horrible metal taste in my mouth.    Spearmint gum and my green-ginger tea seem to help, though.

I recently discovered this nifty feature on WordPress that shows the search terms that people use that lead them to my blog.  Some of them make sense, like “God leads” or “damsel”.  One that caught my eye today, though, was “ugly monkey”.  Ummm… sorry.  Don’t think I’ll be able to help you much, there.

Yesterday was Jet’s last day at his playschool.  I really struggled with whether or not to make a big deal of it with him – to sit him down and say, “Today is your last day at [insert name of school here].  You’re going to stay home with me in the summer and then go to mommy’s school in the fall!”   He just loves it so much.  He’s been there since he was six months old.  Even over the one-week Christmas break that he had, he asked everyday if he was going to school that day.  He was happy to be home with me, but by the end of the break, he was ready to see his friends and go back.

I ended up chickening out.  I did tell him that he was going to stay home with me this summer, and I scheduled swim lessons to start Monday to sort of lessen the blow (I hope).  He’s very excited about swim lessons.

The other issue is that he doesn’t really have a good grip on a timeline.  He can sort of understand “tomorrow”, but not always, so I think trying to explain “this summer” and “next fall/school year” would be beyond his scope right now.  That’s also one of the main reasons we’re not making a big deal about the baby with him.  We’re definitely not hiding it from him, and we’re talking about it around him.  I’m hoping it will just become part of his knowledge base without us sitting him down and trying to explain it to him.  I also think he would drive me nuts with questions everyday about when the baby will be here, so it’s also a bit of self-preservation!  When I start showing more, I think we’ll talk to him about it more, but we’re sort of just playing it by ear.

That’s about it for now… I’m off to sit on my duff some more.  🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Everyday Bliss, Jet, New Baby

One response to “It’s a miracle

  1. MMM

    With Love Bug, she called bedtime “nappies.” SHe knew that something would be coming up “in two nappies.” She understood that she would have to sleep two night times for the event. We taught her time for the day by shows. It would be in “two shows.” She was maybe three or so when she was started doing this.

Leave a Reply

