HE IS RISEN!

This morning, Lynnae at Being Frugal posted her favorite song lyrics.  She mentioned another blog, Gather Little by Little, that posts lyrics each Sunday.  I think that’s a great idea!

Several months ago, our pastor gave a message about music.  God has designed us so that words aligned with music will touch us in a much deeper way than just the words themselves.   Since we are made in His image, it stands to reason that the same is true for Him.  I believe that our heartfelt, honest worship in song, whether it be on Sunday morning in service or in the car on the way to/from work (what? you don’t do that?) is something that touches His heart deeply.  Our pastor’s message that week gave me much to think about, and I am reminded of it every time I begin to sing.  In a way, it was a helpful message, because I know I don’t have a voice that would be judged as beautiful by human standards.  But my true, honest worship to God is a blessing to Him, and He loves to hear it, so I belt it out along with everyone else.  🙂

(Side note:  Our pastor used Imagine as an example.  Everyone in church over the age of 20 years old knew the words and could sing along.  But have you ever read the lyrics? Those are some pretty powerful words, especially when you view them as a Christian.  [insert discussion about moral relativism here- that’s a whole ‘nother post] Yet, we all know them and probably sing along when it comes on the classic rock station.)

One of my very favorite songs is one that definitely relates to Easter morning, and it’s an oldie but goodie. 

Victory in Jesus 

I heard an old, old story,
How a Savior came from glory,
How He gave His life on Calvary
To save a wretch like me;
I heard about His groaning,
Of His precious blood’s atoning,
Then I repented of my sins
And won the victory.

    Chorus
    O victory in Jesus,
    My Savior, forever.
    He sought me and bought me
    With His redeeming blood;
    He loved me ere I knew Him
    And all my love is due Him,
    He plunged me to victory,
    Beneath the cleansing flood.

I heard about His healing,
Of His cleansing pow’r revealing.
How He made the lame to walk again
And caused the blind to see;
And then I cried, “Dear Jesus,
Come and heal my broken spirit,”
And somehow Jesus came and bro’t
To me the victory.

    Chorus
    O victory in Jesus,
    My Savior, forever.
    He sought me and bought me
    With His redeeming blood;
    He loved me ere I knew Him
    And all my love is due Him,
    He plunged me to victory,
    Beneath the cleansing flood.

I heard about a mansion
He has built for me in glory.
And I heard about the streets of gold
Beyond the crystal sea;
About the angels singing,
And the old redemption story,
And some sweet day I’ll sing up there
The song of victory.

    Chorus
    O victory in Jesus,
    My Savior, forever.
    He sought me and bought me
    With His redeeming blood;
    He loved me ere I knew Him
    And all my love is due Him,
    He plunged me to victory,
    Beneath the cleansing flood.

I have two favorite lines in this song.  The first one is “He sought me and he bought me with His redeeming blood”.  The concept of Jesus looking for me and wanting me badly enough to die for me is one that brings tears to my eyes every time.  The second of my favorite lines is “Dear Jesus, come and heal my broken spirit”.  I’ve had a broken spirit, which is different, for me, than a broken heart, though Jesus can heal both.  The idea that Jesus not only has the ability but also the desire to heal my broken spirit and reunite me with God is so very precious to me.

So, today, as you go about your Easter, I pray that you have a joyous remembrance of what it’s really all about.

HE IS RISEN, INDEED!!

2 Comments

Filed under Everyday Bliss, Faith

2 responses to “HE IS RISEN!

  1. I love Victory in Jesus, too! Have a wonderful Easter!

  2. I hope you and your family had a terrific Easter Sunday!

    Thanks for the stepstool/bed advice. I think I might just do that, if I can wrestle a stepstool away from Q. Somehow, they all manage to migrate to his room . . . 😉

Leave a Reply

