Favorite recipe ever!

I pink puffy heart my slow-cooker.  It’s like magic, I swear.  All I do is chunk a bunch of stuff into it (sometimes even frozen stuff) at 6:00 a.m., and when I come home at 5:00 p.m., it’s FOOD! 

Magic, I tell you.

This recipe comes from my Weight Watchers leader, but don’t let that throw you.  🙂

I call it “Easy Chicken Stuff”.

Ingredients:

  • Frozen chicken breasts (I’ve discovered that the quantity doesn’t matter.  I usually use 3, but have used up to 5. For more than that, you should probably double the other ingredients.)
  • 1 packet taco seasoning
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth

Put the chicken into the slow-cooker.  Pour in the broth.  Sprinkle the seasoning over it.  Put the lid on.  Cook on low for at least 6 hours (mine ends up being 10-12 hours usually, and it does GREAT) or on high for 4 hours.

About 10 minutes before serving, take chicken breasts out and shred them with two forks.  Put them back in the liquid, replace the lid, and let them reabsorb the juices.

Ta-daaaa!  Magic, I say.

I’ve served this several different ways:

  • Chicken tacos (tortillas, salsa, lettuce, tomatoes, guacamole, sour cream, cheese, refried beans, Spanish rice)
  • On a salad
  • Over rice with other veggies for sides

I’ve also done several variations on the chicken — italian seasoning packet, ranch dressing mix.

The leftovers are fantastic.  They make a great, semi-spicy chicken salad!

This post was inspired by Tip Junkie pointing me to Jenerbug and her need for easy recipes! (I’m a sucker for any expecting mother who has just MOVED…)

5 Comments

Filed under Eat to Live, Yum

5 responses to “Favorite recipe ever!

  1. MMM

    i pink puffy heart YOU…so will my hubby!

  2. MMM

    PS- is that a BIG can of broth, or one of the little cans?

  3. It’s a small can – 16 ounces, I think. It will seem like not enough liquid, but it is since the chicken will produce some liquid, too. Enjoy!

  4. MMM

    right on-thanks!

  5. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday ~ January 31st | Damsel and Family

Leave a Reply

